Deadlocked Escape Rooms Reading: The Time Machine

By | November 30, 2019

by Deadlocked Escape Rooms Reading (website)

122 Castle Hill, RG1 7RG

Reading

2-6 players

90 mins
The Wexell Corporation have designed a Time Machine, but unfortunately the first group to head into it never returned. Their actions have left rifts in time, altering history and the future in ways that we cannot fathom. The only way to save the world as we know it is to fix the Time Machine, but you’ll only have one minute to do so. If you fail, the machine will need to charge up before you can try again. Your only help is a small friendly robot called Wexie, and the Time Machine herself, who will try to spit you out in different timezones to try to teach you how to fix her.
A 90 minute adventure suitable for those that want to savour an experience, and fans of Doctor Who and sci-fi will love this.
show full description

Overall rating

Rated between 40 and 50 out of 5

based on ratings from 17 users
combined with 6 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Wesley Mead expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 22 Nov 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 63m (of 90m) Outcome: Successful escape!
originalcleverimmersive
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Brian experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: feb 2020 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
Roory experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 09/03/2020 Team size: 2 Time taken: 43.00 Outcome: Successful escape!

Every now and then, an escape room excites or astonishes me - however, it has been a while since a room has made me genuinely happy while playing through it.

Cannot recommend enough, excellent puzzles/story/design throughout - of personal note was the fantastic music throughout the experience which I would happily listen to again.

imrahil experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
PurpleB experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: Jul 2020 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!

Another great concept, well executed from Deadlocked.

🌵Juliette B expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 15/08/2020 Team size: 2 Time taken: 70:00 Outcome: Successful escape!

Loved the idea for this game and how it worked - very clever. Great hosting by James, who was kind enough to have a long chat about the puzzles and gaming generally afterwards. 

Sharon Nowik experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: August 2020 Team size: 2 Time taken: 95 Outcome: Successful escape!

This was our first ever room which is what gave us the escape room bug. The thoughts and details that went into this room are superb. As it was our first room, Charlie from deadlocked let us go over the time a little. From the moment we got into the building, the fun began and I can't wait to come back here to do the other rooms and visit deadlocked in Loughborough 🙂

laceyd87 experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Lianne experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 16 Sep 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 65 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersive

Clearly a place full of passion for escape rooms and sci-fi. 

Our games master James was fantastic from start to finish, and made the experience a memorable one. The sequencing and structure of the puzzles was also very clever. 

The one small drawback was that parts of the set felt a little fragile so we tried to be extra careful while exploring.

A lot of love has gone into this room, and you can definitely see and feel it. Lovely room!

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Time Machine is definitely the first game I’ve seen that claims a 60 second time limit - but of course there’s more to it than that. The time-warping plot actually has a 90 min limit in total; I won’t spoil details of the 60 second thing, but it’s a smart idea that provides the backbone of a game that is structured as a series of shorter vignettes.
For disclosure purposes I should make clear that the owners of Deadlocked are good friends of mine, and knowing that Time Machine is their pa...
Allons-y, time travellers, it’s time to save the world! For a short walk from the Reading train station you will find this little gem of time adventure. After a short debriefing at the HQ you will be tasked to fix a time machine and you will have exactly 60 seconds to do so … errr … yes, you are very likely to fail … your failure will cause a time anomaly and the time machine will spit you out in a different time and space. Luckily, you will keep in contact with your friendly robot companion, Wexie, who will help you to collect instructions to fix the time machine. It’s all wibbly-wobbly, timey-wimey really!
With only 60 seconds to fix the time machine, this isn’t your ordinary room. Technically a 90 minute experience, sci-fi fans will likely find lots to love about The Time Machine (we did)
Great Scott! This game was fun. Structurally, Deadlocked did something utterly genius with Time Machine. While it was functionally a 90-minute escape room, narratively it was a 60-second escape room. Because time travel. It’s the kind of idea that’s so good that I know tons of creators will read this and wish that they had come up with it.

We have just 60 seconds to fix a broken time machine before rifts in time change the world forever. Can we, and our robot helper, succeed?

See also